Sucheta Marathe
Sucheta Marathe  Identity Verified
India
Local time: 01:40
Marathi to English
+ ...
Mar 2, 2016

Hi,

I am a software professional with 17+ years of experience. Started as a developer, QA and then worked as a Project/Program Manager across the globe. Translation is my passion and have been working as a part-time freelancer since last 7 years (along with my full time IT job) .
I am a certified Project Management Professional from Software Engineering Institute (SEI, Pittsburgh, USA)

I have attended couple of on-line Localization courses (also from Proz trainin
... See more
Hi,

I am a software professional with 17+ years of experience. Started as a developer, QA and then worked as a Project/Program Manager across the globe. Translation is my passion and have been working as a part-time freelancer since last 7 years (along with my full time IT job) .
I am a certified Project Management Professional from Software Engineering Institute (SEI, Pittsburgh, USA)

I have attended couple of on-line Localization courses (also from Proz training) and attended some webinars.
I wish to work and specialize in Localization, I18N field henceforth.

How and whom should I approach to get assignments in localization as a freelancer ? I need to get good experience as eventually I would like to be a Localization PM.

Can someone guide me?
Collapse

Xenoglossy
Xenoglossy
Local time: 21:10
English to Spanish
+ ...
... Mar 2, 2016

http://www.localisation.ie/education/

Sucheta Marathe
India
Marathi to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Mar 3, 2016

Thanks AGV, for sharing the link for 'MSc in Multilingual Computing and Localisation (Distance Learning)' from University of Limerick. Very useful course information.
However, I will not be able to take up a year long course at this stage. It will be expensive as well, considering me as a non-EU student.

Having said that, I will really be interested in a short course with hands-on experience.

[Edited at 2016-03-03 17:51 GMT]