Tips for Translating Subtitles More Efficiently
Thread poster: Brooke Cochran
Brooke Cochran
Brooke Cochran  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 18:26
French to English
Jun 21, 2016

I have been working for a client for a few months and my speed has certainly increased. BUT I saw posts here that say some people can translate ten minutes of video in one hour which is WAY more efficient!

I thought I worked pretty efficiently, but, to hear that others work faster... Well, I'm fascinated.

Do you have any tips? Software you use? A method you love?

For me, I translate in Excel with the ST in one column and the TT in another and a column conta
... See more
I have been working for a client for a few months and my speed has certainly increased. BUT I saw posts here that say some people can translate ten minutes of video in one hour which is WAY more efficient!

I thought I worked pretty efficiently, but, to hear that others work faster... Well, I'm fascinated.

For me, I translate in Excel with the ST in one column and the TT in another and a column containing a character count formula. And just type away, lots of backspacing and revising, though, to make things match. Of course, I have the video open, too, and compare my translation with it throughout the process.

It currently takes me about four hours to provide a solid, proofread, final version of ten minutes of video. Note: I'm working with a time coded script in the source language, so I translate into to the target language and make sure the characters, line breaks, etc. match the provided time code and will read smoothly.
Collapse

Faustine.Rou (X)
Faustine.Rou (X)
Local time: 23:26
English to French
Don't rush it. Jun 22, 2016

I doubt those who subtitle 10 minutes of video per hour are producing good subtitles.