Do I deserve an apology?
Thread poster: Alex Wang
Alex Wang
Alex Wang
Local time: 17:01
English to Chinese
+ ...
Aug 26, 2017

As a translator myself, I certainly understand the frustration that everyone experiences when you are not paid after doing your work, which has happened to me a couple times. Therefore, as a rule, I always pay my translators very promptly, sometimes within an hour.

However, today I have a unique case I would like to share with you and hear your opinions as a translation agency. I hope that this also sheds some light on the payment issue from the perspective of a translation agency.
... See more
As a translator myself, I certainly understand the frustration that everyone experiences when you are not paid after doing your work, which has happened to me a couple times. Therefore, as a rule, I always pay my translators very promptly, sometimes within an hour.

However, today I have a unique case I would like to share with you and hear your opinions as a translation agency. I hope that this also sheds some light on the payment issue from the perspective of a translation agency.

I outsourced a project to a German translator who failed to follow the instructions and failed to deliver the requested bilingual translation file and the clean Word file file. When he failed to use the specified CAT tool, there was also a formatting error in the delivered Word file. I understand that everyone makes mistakes, so I told him so and wanted him to make the correction and deliver the bilingual translation file together with the corrected Word file, which is something that I would assume that every professional translator would and should do.