Thread poster: Gregory Lassale
Gregory Lassale
Gregory Lassale  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 16:07
English to French
Apr 17, 2018

Hello,

I am just getting started as a translator and have virtually no experience with CAT tools save for a couple of tiny jobs done on Wordfast Anywhere and tooling around with OmegaT.

A prospective client is telling me they require Trades compatibility so OmegaT is out. Since my computers are Mac, my next trados-compatible and cost-effective option is be CafeTran.

The client is asking if I am able to open Xliff files (which I believe CafeTran can do) and
... See more
Hello,

I am just getting started as a translator and have virtually no experience with CAT tools save for a couple of tiny jobs done on Wordfast Anywhere and tooling around with OmegaT.

A prospective client is telling me they require Trades compatibility so OmegaT is out. Since my computers are Mac, my next trados-compatible and cost-effective option is be CafeTran.

The client is asking if I am able to open Xliff files (which I believe CafeTran can do) and to apply a TM discount breakdown they previously submitted to me. Having already agreed to that TM breakdown, I am not sure what they are asking. Do CAT tools have functionalities to "apply TM breakdowns" for invoicing or something like that? I am totally confused.

Thanks for any light you can shed on this.

G.L.
Collapse

Philippe Etienne
Philippe Etienne  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 22:07
English to French
Applying TM breakdowns Apr 17, 2018

It means performing calculations in order to assess the leverage you can get from previous translations stored in the TM and the amount of repeated sentences.