Good resources for implementing localization at a software company
Thread poster: Ben Shaw
Ben Shaw
Ben Shaw
New Zealand
Local time: 11:46
German to English
May 24, 2018

I'm a senior technical writer at a software company that develops a large suite of applications in the legal/financial domain. I have a background in translation and localization, so I am trying to push for my company to invest more thoroughly in a better localization solution (our current solution leaves a fair bit to be desired).

What are some good resources for me to ensure I am considering and planning for all issues? The main points I'm using to try to convince the powers-that-
... See more
I'm a senior technical writer at a software company that develops a large suite of applications in the legal/financial domain. I have a background in translation and localization, so I am trying to push for my company to invest more thoroughly in a better localization solution (our current solution leaves a fair bit to be desired).

What are some good resources for me to ensure I am considering and planning for all issues? The main points I'm using to try to convince the powers-that-be that we need a more robust solution are:

- Context: all UI text in its editable form currently exists in an almost absolute vacuum - without asking specific questions to that end, translators have no idea of the context of a particular string (and our software is too vast and too tight with intellectual property to offer a test environment to every translator that works on our project).
- Consistency: with no approved terminology list, our current hands-off approach leads to a very unhealthy amount of inconsistency around common terms, structure, style, etc.