How to apply SEO knowledge while translating websites?
Thread poster: JIAN LIU
JIAN LIU
JIAN LIU
China
Local time: 21:00
English to Chinese
Sep 11, 2020

When I am translating websites, client requires certain SEO knowledge. I read many SEO documents, but still not quite clear on how to do it. SEO is a big topic, and some SEO techniques got changed as time went by. As a translator, I think there are maybe two areas that I need most for the knowledge of SEO. For example, if I translate from Chinese to English.
1, Keywords
I need to find what is the best English keyword(e.g. here are some options: great scanner, excellent scanner... ) t
... See more
When I am translating websites, client requires certain SEO knowledge. I read many SEO documents, but still not quite clear on how to do it. SEO is a big topic, and some SEO techniques got changed as time went by. As a translator, I think there are maybe two areas that I need most for the knowledge of SEO. For example, if I translate from Chinese to English.
1, Keywords
I need to find what is the best English keyword(e.g. here are some options: great scanner, excellent scanner... ) to use. How could I know should I choose 'great scanner' or 'great scanner'...?
2, The rest of contents(tiltes, tags, discriptions, texts...)
I saw different opinions about it, some said: should use the keyword in the contents as many as possible, some said: use some, but do not use them too often/obviously. So what some basical principles for translator to follow?
Thanks.
Collapse

Thomas T. Frost
Thomas T. Frost  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 13:00
Danish to English
+ ...
Google: write naturally Sep 11, 2020