Localisation of ASP - survey by a student. Please help!
Thread poster: chirigoni
chirigoni
chirigoni
Local time: 21:21
English to Italian
Jul 31, 2002

My name is Bruna. I am a student at Imperial College, in London, where I will be completing my MSc in Translation with a dissertation on Localisation of ASP. I would appreciate if you could spare some of your time to answer this questionnaire to help my research. As you will know, this is a relatively new topic for which it is difficult to find reference material. This is the reason why I will base my research on your information, since you might have experience on this field., or know somebody ... See more
My name is Bruna. I am a student at Imperial College, in London, where I will be completing my MSc in Translation with a dissertation on Localisation of ASP. I would appreciate if you could spare some of your time to answer this questionnaire to help my research. As you will know, this is a relatively new topic for which it is difficult to find reference material. This is the reason why I will base my research on your information, since you might have experience on this field., or know somebody who has.

Please feel free to add information on aspects of localisation of ASP I might have omitted in my questionnaire.

Thank You

Bruna Chirigoni

Questionnnaire

Localisation of ASP

1) Do you localise websites which include ASP pages?

2) What type of files do you receive when you localise a website (e.g. ASP, HTML)?

3) How do you receive and return files [e.g. FTP, email, other program (please specify)]?

4) What type of ASP pages are more commonly localised (with what purpose, e.g. e-commerce, forms)?

5) Do you use any translation aid [e.g. translation memory, machine translation software (please specify)]?

6) Do you receive both static and dynamic text (do you receive only static text or also text to be translated from the database)?