George Trail
George Trail  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 03:57
Member (2009)
French to English
+ ...
Apr 19, 2010

When I first started working as a translator I agreed that the only people likely to consider offering me any work were translation agencies. It wasn't long before I was registering with translation agencies all over my home country (the UK) but also any number of those located in countries whose mother tongue is a language I am fluent in and offer translation services in, but it's not my own mother tongue. But consider this: I have been fortunate enough to be approached by translation agencies ... See more
When I first started working as a translator I agreed that the only people likely to consider offering me any work were translation agencies. It wasn't long before I was registering with translation agencies all over my home country (the UK) but also any number of those located in countries whose mother tongue is a language I am fluent in and offer translation services in, but it's not my own mother tongue. But consider this: I have been fortunate enough to be approached by translation agencies based in Italy, Czechoslovakia, Hungary, Slovenia and Croatia, for whom I have completed translation tasks from French to English or from German to English. How do you explain it being so seemingly likely that an agency based abroad offers translation services in language pairs where neither language is its mother tongue?Collapse

Johannes Mueller
Johannes Mueller  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 04:57
Dutch to German
+ ...
Maybe it is because.... Apr 19, 2010

of the globilasation (my spelling might be incorrect)- huge multinational companies have there office in f.e. Italy, but produce in Germany, GB, USA. All orders are made in Italy and they will seek for Italian translation agencies- for any language combination.