Thread poster: Mehmet Akıncı
Mehmet Akıncı
Mehmet Akıncı  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 02:15
Arabic to Turkish
+ ...
Sep 14, 2022

I started learning Trados Studio 2022 on my own and have been using it for about a week now. I have understood almost all its main features, but some aspects are still unclear.

1. Termbase vs Multiterm? What is the relationship between these two? Is one an alternative to the other or do you use both at the same time?

2. Should my multiterm and termbase file be the same or should I create a separate file for each?

3. I am translating in three languages. Do I
... See more
I started learning Trados Studio 2022 on my own and have been using it for about a week now. I have understood almost all its main features, but some aspects are still unclear.

1. Termbase vs Multiterm? What is the relationship between these two? Is one an alternative to the other or do you use both at the same time?

2. Should my multiterm and termbase file be the same or should I create a separate file for each?

3. I am translating in three languages. Do I need to create a separate termbase file for each language match? Like this:

En-Tr
En-Ar
Ar-En
Ar-Tr
Tr-En
Tr-Ar

4. On Trados we can select a term from the source and target text and add it to the termbase. Is there a way to do the same for multiterm?

Thanks in advance
Collapse

Paul Malone
Paul Malone  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 01:15
Member (2004)
French to English
+ ...
A "termbase" is a database of terms, MultiTerm is the name of the software Sep 14, 2022

1) "MultiTerm" is the name of the software application, like Trados Studio or Microsoft Word, whereas the "termbase" is actually a glossary, or, if you prefer, a database of terms.
You can use your MultiTerm termbase when working in Trados Studio, for example to add new terms, to insert terms into your translation or to make changes to your termbase.