Michael Guggenbichler  Identity Verified
Austria
Local time: 23:42
Member (2021)
German to Italian
+ ...
Aug 4, 2021

Hi, everyone,

I just started working as a freelance translator (I have a BSc and a MSc in the medical field and a BA in translation studies).

I have applied to many translation agencies, some have replied and are interested in working with me, but I would also like to know how to find direct clients in my field (mainly healthcare and life sciences, but also travel and tourism).

Do I just have to google potential clients and email them offering my services
... See more
Hi, everyone,

I just started working as a freelance translator (I have a BSc and a MSc in the medical field and a BA in translation studies).

I have applied to many translation agencies, some have replied and are interested in working with me, but I would also like to know how to find direct clients in my field (mainly healthcare and life sciences, but also travel and tourism).

Do I just have to google potential clients and email them offering my services hoping they need a translator, or are there other ways to get their attention/find suitable clients that need a translator (other than searching in the job postings here on ProZ)?

Thank you in advance for your answers!
Michael
Collapse

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 22:42
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
@Michael Aug 4, 2021

I’ve heard some colleagues say that taking part in medical or scientific conferences is a good step (though probably expensive). Besides that, try answering as many Kudoz medical questions as you can in order to climb on the directory. On the other hand, I don’t know how the Proz pre-screened pharmaceutical translator pool (https://www.proz.com/pools/pharmaceutical-translators) ... See more