Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Is the membership of ATA a must for a translator and interpreter?
Thread poster: jiajunjorkyin
jiajunjorkyin
jiajunjorkyin
China
Local time: 01:43
English to Chinese
+ ...
Nov 25, 2021

I am shifting my work from crew translator and interpreter to a freelancer.

Things are different from working at sea.Someone suggests it is better to join the ATA(American Translators Association).However , what benefits could I get from this organization?

Rachel Waddington
Rachel Waddington  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 18:43
Dutch to English
+ ...
Professional associations Nov 25, 2021

Hi,

I've got no experience of the ATA (I'm in the UK and am in the ITI), but membership of a professional organisation can bring a number of benefits including: networking with other members, training opportunities, listing in member database (which can bring work) and just generally feeling like you have a supportive community around you. Like anything, the more you put in, the more you will get out.

Also, don't forget that professional membership is not only about wh
... See more
Hi,

I've got no experience of the ATA (I'm in the UK and am in the ITI), but membership of a professional organisation can bring a number of benefits including: networking with other members, training opportunities, listing in member database (which can bring work) and just generally feeling like you have a supportive community around you. Like anything, the more you put in, the more you will get out.

Also, don't forget that professional membership is not only about what you get out of it but also what you can give back to the profession to make things better for everyone. As freelancers, we are in a weak position but professional organisations work to lift the status of the profession. The more people are members, the more they can do.
Collapse

Susan Murphy Lamprecht
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Christine Andersen
Kay Denney
Anastasia Kalantzi