Louis_PM
Louis_PM
Canada
Local time: 10:32
English to French
+ ...
Oct 13, 2014

Hello,

I'm on the hunt for a bilingual concordancer that I could use for a Contrastive Linguistics study. Of course, there's AntConc, but it is monolingual. There's also Paraconc, but I need to pay around $90 for it. Being a student, I can't afford this.

Any idea where I could find such a tool? My last resort will be to use TradooIT, but it is online, and I'd rather keep my corpus and research local.

Thank you for your input on this matter!

Lou
... See more
Hello,

I'm on the hunt for a bilingual concordancer that I could use for a Contrastive Linguistics study. Of course, there's AntConc, but it is monolingual. There's also Paraconc, but I need to pay around $90 for it. Being a student, I can't afford this.

Any idea where I could find such a tool? My last resort will be to use TradooIT, but it is online, and I'd rather keep my corpus and research local.

Thank you for your input on this matter!

Louis
Collapse

FarkasAndras
FarkasAndras  Identity Verified
Local time: 16:32
English to Hungarian
+ ...
Concordancer? Oct 14, 2014

What does it need to do exactly? Xbench or TMLookup might work depending on the features you need.
TMLookup has a bug you need to be aware of: searches on ascii characters are case insensitive, but non-ascii searches are case sensitive.

Louis_PM
Louis_PM
Canada
Local time: 10:32
English to French
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Looking for a full-sentences bilingual concordancer Oct 14, 2014

Hi,

I'm looking for a piece a software that would allow me to search for a word and its collocates in a 5-word horizon, for instance. Terminology software will not work for what I'm planning, as these units are taken out of context. Another useful feature would be to query for a word in language A that would result in a specific word (its translation) in language B.

So let's say I'm trying to find occurences where "car" (English) is translated, but I'm only interested i