Thread poster: Rebekah Olson
Rebekah Olson
Rebekah Olson  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 03:31
Norwegian to English
+ ...
Mar 30, 2022

*I apologize if this is the wrong sub - I could not post in "Translation Agencies", for some reason, so I thought this was the next best thing.

I've been working with Lionbridge for around 4 years now. The last year, I keep getting my files returned to me by their Project Managers, who say something like, "we can tell you worked on our files in Trados and now they're corrupt". I don't know why this suddenly started happening as nothing on my end changed - I do work on the files usin
... See more
*I apologize if this is the wrong sub - I could not post in "Translation Agencies", for some reason, so I thought this was the next best thing.

I've been working with Lionbridge for around 4 years now. The last year, I keep getting my files returned to me by their Project Managers, who say something like, "we can tell you worked on our files in Trados and now they're corrupt". I don't know why this suddenly started happening as nothing on my end changed - I do work on the files using Trados 2015, but for years this wasn't a problem.

I love Trados and can't stand TWS, of which I tried a free trial some time ago. I loathe the idea that Lionbridge essentially requires translators to purchase a license to their proprietary software in order to work with them, but their PMs are telling me directly that they cannot use any Trados-worked-on files, that their TMs cannot be updated from Trados-worked-on files. Is this really the case? And if so, why?

Does anyone else have this issue, work with Lionbridge, or have a workaround to this issue?