Silvia Barra (X)
Silvia Barra (X)  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 17:28
English to Italian
+ ...
Feb 6, 2009

Dear collegues,
I'd like to know what being a freelancer is for you.
I mean, before working as a freelancer, I worked in in-house positions (not in the translation field thought) and for me freelance is above all freedom. Freedom on when, how much, how, where, if to work, without being obliged to respect strict working hours. I have a baby and in Italy mothers are not helped as for flexibility, home working and so on.
Yes, being a freelancer also means that last week I was sick
... See more
Dear collegues,
I'd like to know what being a freelancer is for you.
I mean, before working as a freelancer, I worked in in-house positions (not in the translation field thought) and for me freelance is above all freedom. Freedom on when, how much, how, where, if to work, without being obliged to respect strict working hours. I have a baby and in Italy mothers are not helped as for flexibility, home working and so on.
Yes, being a freelancer also means that last week I was sick but I worked all days. If I were an employee I could rest quiet at home while being paid by the social security.
And, yes, I don't have regular workflows. But considering the present crisis, the same argument is valid for employees.
So, I can say that after an year of freelancer life I see mainly advantages.
I'd like to know your opinions about this argument. Maybe you know some disadvantages that I still could not see...
Tell me your experience.
Thank you
Silvia
Collapse

Mats Wiman
Mats Wiman  Identity Verified
Sweden
Member (2000)
German to Swedish
+ ...
In memoriam
Freedom is relative but still worth having Feb 6, 2009

Hi,

Do not forget that you have to pay for food, rent, phone, gas and clothes for your children etc
AND
your cash flow just might not be in tune with your expenses.